Punica Granatum

pomegranate1Pomegranates (Punica granatum) are fruit-bearing shrubs or small trees and said to originate in Egypt among other places. The fruit grows from the blooms when it matures. I haven’t seen (in person) or eaten one and I’m not even sure that it’s available where I live, but they said the red jewel-like seeds are completely edible and are tart and juicy. It tastes sort of like a combination of an apples, cranberries, and grapes which thinking about it makes my mouth water hehehe. So here’ a look on the work in progress second piece for a artwork series I’m doing.ss

I also included a small steps on how I illustrate the elements for the artwork. So it starts with painting in the shapes in color flats then adding shadings and blending them together with the smudge tool in photoshop. I finish them off by adding specks and details with a custom brush.  pomegranate3


Do not use without proper and prior consent. Copyright 2014 Paolo Ramirez

Leave a Reply

